Tiger Woods assessed 2-shot penalty at Masters

Posted by on Apr 13, 2013 at 10:55 am

Tiger Woods was assessed a two-shot penalty at the Masters on Saturday for taking an illegal drop during Friday’s second round.

The Masters issued a statement 40 minutes after play in the third round began.

After being prompted by a television viewer, the Rules Committee reviewed a video of the shot while Woods was playing the 18th hole. At the time, the committee determined Woods had complied with the rules, according to the statement.

After the round, Woods said he played his fifth shot further from the point from where he had hit his third round, which would constitute playing from the wrong place. This warranted the committee to further review and discuss the matter with Woods Saturday morning.

After the meeting, according to the statement, the committee determined Woods had violated the rule and assessed him a 2-stroke penalty. The penalty for disqualification for signing an incorrect scorecard, however, was waived by the committee under Rule 33 as the committee had previously reviewed the matter and made its initial determination prior to the finish of the player’s round. This meant Woods was not aware or told he made an illegal drop.

Full story.

One Response to “Tiger Woods assessed 2-shot penalty at Masters”

  1. fountain of snarks on 13/13/13 at 4:29 pm

    He should have called the dear leader messiah for some executive action.